NPCs (technical)

Magusdl

First, just to make clear, I'm not asking for NPC's, I want their brain. :P

I just read again Lemmy's explanation on why NPC's aren't being fully worked on, and being a programmer, I fully understand him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YsL_7xQnCSA (very old PZ AI video)

Ever since I watched this video, back in 2011 (2012?), I have been itching to play with their code. I go back to that video every now and then, it's just so awesome, I could watch it all day.

@Lemmy

Now, I would like to know what exactly is the issue with the current NPC progress, I remember reading something about the pathfind on the streamed cells, which (understandably) made things ALOT harder. The sledgehammer, carpentry and modding don't help at all in setting up manual waypoints (if that's the way your heading), so I thought you could be trying a neural network so they could kind of build it themselves. In Quake 2, a bot (not sure the name, I think it was Eraser Bot) would use the players positioning to "know" if a place was good, after some gameplays, the bots would start going after the unusual item spawns players liked to pick, and in CTF they would defend the most used routes. Maybe the issue is making the NPC's AI work well with the other metagame events. I'm totally lost to what is happening behind the curtain. :(

There is anywhere I could get more information on what approach you are using? With code it would be even better. I would surely like to help think on solutions for these issues, maybe even find a different approach that could work with the metagame system. I just want to play with their brains (not AI, meh, boring word :P) for so many years now, that it's urging me to post this, so sorry if it sounds like any sort of distrust.

Guest easy AI opponent

+1