Vehicles won't spawn [SOLVED, SOLUTION IN LAST POST]

TitanKämpfer

Hello,

I'm pretty new to map making in Zomboid and went through some tutorials on youtube. However spawning cars simply does not work for me.
At first I tried creating them like in the tutorial video, naming them "parkingstall" and giving them the template. First only 3x4 or 4x3, but neither them, nor the larger ones do spawn anything. I even tried not naming them or what would happen if I don't attach a template.

The parking stalls are in the worldobjects.lua and the worldsobjects.lua is also included in my maps folder. What else could I have done wrong?

Vehicle Spawn Zones.png

Vehicle Spawn Zones2.png

Edited by TitanKämpfer

I've never done any mapping, but in my files the name value is never 'parkingstall', its either empty or a special value (MassGenFac, network3, spiffo, good, etc.)

If it makes any difference, vanilla parking stalls are in objects.lua rather than worldobjects.lua

I also tried giving them no name (actually you can see that the list also still features 3 none named ones). But besides that also postal and bad never spawned anything.

But I will try renaming my objects file to objects.lua and test it.

Edit:

No, Did not make any difference.

Edit 2 & Solution:

I just added all possible car zones to my map to test if any of them works and now cars do spawn (on all parkingstalls). Seemingly the game does need at least some different types of parkingstalls? Probably normal ones and burnt or traffic jam ones?

- I can now confirm that the game does at least need one traffic jam parkingstall to spawn cars at all

Edited by TitanKämpfer

• TitanKämpfer changed the title to Vehicles won't spawn [SOLVED, SOLUTION IN LAST POST]
  • 2 months later...

Perhaps unrelated but having issues with getting vehicles to spawn myself I tried a view things.

1. You HAVE to name the parking stall zones using lower case: parkingstall