How to make reusable books and other items?

Archsaint

Greetings, I'm working on my first mod and I've reached a dead end.

I need a book (not a skill book) to be 'not consumed' after reading, have its page count reset, and also give the benefit of BoredomChange and UnhappyChange after only reading for maybe 15 or 20 pages (instead of having to complete the entire book - it's a big book). I tried ReplaceOnDeplete, and some other things but nothing works.

Also for future modding, how would you add the 'not consumed' property to say food or a cigarette?

I have tried to reverse engineer this from other mods and have searched forum posts to no avail. Seems like a simple thing to do, but I'm not a coder. There are some mods that do this for every book, such as the Reset Page Read mod, but I'd rather not require another mod for mine to function as desired if possible. Any help is appreciated!

I want to help but I cant find what I want. Instead of having it not be consumed or having the page recount set, I want to find where the code is that makes the book disappear when finished and add a check for if its a book have it spawn another book after, that way you still have a book even if its not the same book. Im looking in Project Zomboid\media\lua\client\TimedActions\ISReadABook.lua and I cant find anything that would do that except maybe 

if self.item:getNumberOfPages() > 0 then
        local pagesRead = math.floor(self.item:getNumberOfPages() * self:getJobDelta())
        self.item:setAlreadyReadPages(pagesRead);
        if self.item:getAlreadyReadPages() > self.item:getNumberOfPages() then
            self.item:setAlreadyReadPages(self.item:getNumberOfPages());
        end
        self.character:setAlreadyReadPages(self.item:getFullType(), self.item:getAlreadyReadPages())
But I cant see where it links to to get rid of the book after. I tried searching the rest of the files but theres nothing I can find.