I want to make wooden spikes trap to the game. How to make them hurt zombies?

dred

Like in the title - how? I thought to copy wooden floor, change it properties to fit to my mod idea and add it to the game in the form of new building item. Is there a way to do this? I have no experience in this field, but I like to invent and contrive :)

post-3591-0-48305300-1384807002.png

Hi. I'm working on my idea and i am making properties file for my item:

item SpikeTrap
{
display name = "Spike Trap",
type = "Weapon",
ShareDamage = true,
KnockBackOnNoDeath = true, 
KnockdownMod = 100,
MaxDamage = 50,
MinDamage = 10,
MaxHitCount = 17,
ConditionMax = 79,
CriticalChance = 10,
CanBarricade = true,

--i'm not sure on this one: --
ConditionLowerChanceOneIn = 15,

}

This is what i did so far (default values for testing purpose).
If anyone can give me a hint/opinion if this properties are correct i will be grateful.

ConditionLowerChanceOneIn=15 means that there is 1/15 chance to lower ConditionMax by 1 when you hit someone with it.

But this will work as handweapon,if you put it on ground,nothing happens to zombies wandering through it.That will need different approach and lots of coding.I dont have any experiences here but when i looked at camping code.how many things i need for making tent...it will take many late evenings for newbie like me to create something like that. 

EDIT I was curious what item with KnockdownMod = 100 do to my heard of stupid zombies in sandbox,but it does nothing and i died horribly :(

Edited by Ramibuk

Phew ... I'm afraid, that you will need more than a few lines of code to get this one done.

This is a rough outline of what you'll need (at least as far as I can tell):

• New Inventory Item for the spikes
  • New World Context Menu
  • Timed Action for placing the spikes
  • WorldObject to represent the spikes (= Building Object in TIS terms^^)
  • Custom behaviour of how zombies interact with it (instead of bashing on it they should pass through)