Trouble with zombies...

Morrn40

I just started playing Project Zomboid recently. Im loving it. But I am having one pretty serious problem. If I play on Scenario:One Week Later for casual players Im ok. But if I play on anything else, and that includes Survival the recomended zomboid experience, its like I cant even leave my starting house because the packs of zombies are so thick, I get swarmed I almost immediately upon leaving. Ive tried so many times, Im at a loss as to what to do. I WANT to play the recomended experience and not the easy mode but I just cant figure out how Im supposed to deal with HUGE packs of zombies right when I start.

1 hour ago, Okamikurainya said:

Practice makes perfect.
Do not engage unless necessary.
Sneak, don't run.
Slow and steady and you'll be ready.

Pretty much this.

Only run when you have to and use it to cut line of sight and immediately start sneaking again if possible.

It takes time but you need to learn the basics.
The biggest mistakes most people make early on is;

• They try to loot everything
  • They go up Stairs and get Trapped
  • They sleep in high zombie area zones

When you first start off avoid going upstairs. Why? Stairs are a bottleneck and you likely won't have nails \ hammer \ sheets to make a sheet rope. So there is a chance of getting trapped with no way out. 

If you are perfectly sure no zombies nearby feel free to go up, but if you noticed a few around the house avoid stairs until you got your self a solid weapon. 

Next early on grab the essentials;

• Food
  • Can Opener 
  • A meele weapon
  • Bags
  • Hammer
  • Nails
  • Planks
  • Skill Books
  • Bordrem Books \ Magazines
  • Medicine
  • Sheets
  • Watch

If you have room ( otherwise note the location of ) 

• Axe
  • Saw
  • Generator
  • Whiskey
  • Lighter

Try and grab all the basics before the end of the night, try windows an doors if open. Try to get in without alerting any zeds.