[resolved] Change only 1 function from original

rez

First of all, I have everything working pretty much, so please don't think I want someone to do the work for me. I'm only a beginner in Lua, so please bear with me if I ask some stupid things or use incorrect terms. I have searched beforehand for a couple of days, but have to ask you anyway.

So, I have a mod, that modifies 'media\lua\client\TimedActions\ISScavengeAction.lua' file.

The mod is basically done by a copy of existing with a small change. Example:

ISScavengeAction = ISBaseTimedAction:derive("ISScavengeAction")
[.. snipped ..]
function ISScavengeAction:perform()
    -- x5 increase from 20 actions to 100 per 'fatigue day'
    self.character:getStats():setFatigue(self.character:getStats():getFatigue() + 0.01)
	-- needed to remove from queue / start next.
	ISBaseTimedAction.perform(self)
end

As I understand, if I create and load another mod that has the same file overridden, the mods will be incompatible (because of how modloader works).

Is there a way to do something similar to Java's 'extend' for the function? I presume that's what the 'derive' keyword is for.

What's the best approach here? Remove everything standard except the changed functions and definitions from the mod and use 'derive'? Will everything work? Or is there something else I should know?

Ideally I'd like to go as low as changing only 1 variable in a function so that cross-mod compatibility is the highest.

Any advice from experience is welcome!

Thank you.

Edited by rez
resolved, added tags

Remove everything except the changed functions, ignore derive....this is a function that creates a lua metatable (basically a object class).

To ensure its loaded after other mods so its not overwritten, you'd have to define the function inside a event such as OnGameStart (or similar)

Edited by Fenris_Wolf