Server save vs Player save
1 1

4 posts in this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi guys,

 

I've been testing a server options and I just want to reconfirm what I observed 

- Buildings' positions and environment is kept on the server side in location Zomboid/Multiplayer/"servername" but player's location and inventory is kept on client side on their PC

- even If I delete Multiplayer/"servername" folder on the server side, player after logging spawns in the sample place and with the same inventory 

 

don't you think is dangerous to keep players inventory on player side not server?

 

That creates a problem if I want to restart server completely. I'm not able to force people to loose their items 

as they have inventory saved in their folders, and folders are created per IP of the server so changing the name of the server will probably not help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can force a player's saves to be deleted by changing the id values in %username%\zomboid\server\severtest.ini

 

But yeah, at some point TIS may look at moving some of the player's data serverside, however the game was designed originally as a single player game, without the server/client paradigm. It won't be an easy transition, and may not be possible to have entirely server-side saves for performance reasons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the answer :) In my case that is not a big problem since I want to play with 2-3 friends and nobody from us wants to cheat, but knowing how to reset inventory is nice.

 

Unfortunatelly new problem appeared:

- changing ResetID=(some number) doesn't change anything

- changing ServerPlayerID=(some number) will give the prompt "Player does not appear to have been created on this server" and freezes on the black screen forever

 

no_player.jpg

 

 

PS:That's great the PZ has an option to play co-op! This is a reason why I actually wanted have it, I don't really like to play single player anymore and games market, even it's so big right now, is really weak on the side of co-op games :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Would it slow the server down if inventory and location was saved server side with only the login info being saved client side.

 

That would be great because I have 3 different PC's and this would allow me to log in from any of them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
1 1