Mammoth Gravity Battles - 3D turn based gravity wars

SpaceMammoth

I'm an indie dev working on "Mammoth Gravity Battles", a 3D turn based strategy/artillery game for multiple platforms, similar to the classic gravity wars/death star battles. Its going to have four player pass-n-play battles, a story/campaign mode, multiple weapons and destructible planets. I'm very excited about the progress of the game, its coming on nicely.

SS9s.jpg

SS30s.jpg

SS28s.jpg

So, this is a game that actually uses 3D for something else than technological spectacle? That's good!

Thanks although if you try the demo you'll see the 3D aspect is genuinely hard to get your head around. Players aren't used to having to think in real 3d, and aiming shots in a (moving) 3d gravity field is very very difficult. I'm working hard on the campaign, the first few levels will effectively be 2d (with the same 3d graphics) to get the player used to the game, only in the advanced levels is the full 3D gameplay unleashed. 

• 4 weeks later...

Players aren't used to having to think in real 3d

That's true and obviously a fault of fundamentally flawed game design for the last decades. Everything has to be 3D because it "looks nice". Most developers don't even think about the fact that most 3D games would function even better in 2D (I'm especially looking at plaftormers, RPGs and typical "board-like" strategy games). These games don't NEED 3D, they just have it because you HAVE to. (Or at least HAD to for a long time now...)

I applaud you for actually making use of the third dimension.

Most developers don't even think about the fact that most 3D games would function even better in 2D (I'm especially looking at plaftormers, RPGs and typical "board-like" strategy games). These games don't NEED 3D, they just have it because you HAVE to. (Or at least HAD to for a long time now...)