need help with sprites/icons, and much more to come

stayxstoned

first off, this is my very first time modding or doing anything with code so my knowledge is limited tho i learn fast. i started playing this game and learned most of it and started wanting for more content  i.e. weps/recipes/etc. i couldnt find any working mods that were worth a shit other than a neat item spawner that did nothing new so i deleted it. I just started browsing code until i fond the items, then decided to try to add a new gun(hope to add loads, think of state of decay). I succesfully made a Colt .45 that had its own ammo and a working reload function and got it to spawn into the game.  before all this i downloaded some weapon mod that had ak-47, m16, m14, m1garand, etc.  he had new textures and everything but i couldnt get his mod to work at all.  the way i added my colt pistol was i went to the base item files, found the pistol and all required parts(2clips and the ammo)  made some changes and had my new pistol working perfectly. i then decided to add all of the weapons from the failed mod i downloaded earlier. 

sorry for rambling, its my nature, to the point!!

how do i get the new textures for the weapons i added? i currently have all the weapons added and spawned but they are all shotguns or the 1 pistol textures.... lol.....  and to boot the shotgun textures only show when my character is walking a certian way, its invis while shooting, and none but my original Colt .45 reload at all but thats because i copied most of the other dumbshits code when i made them.(dont no if he was completely incompetent or mod was ruined by update. the item code looked ok so i copied and made changes but am going to have to redo as none currently reload).   

rambled again....  i want to add custom icons/sprites for my guns, read it can be done but the tutorial was very bad and poorly translated, or my understanding of lua is just that bad,