UngratefulDead's Hunting Mod

UngratefulDead

banner.png

So, this is my first attempt at a mod for Project Zomboid and my first attempt at a mod in general, but I'm pretty pleased with how it's turned out so far. My goal is to have a hunting system that requires the character to spend time out of doors and provides a source of meat as well as a use for the rifles when they often find themselves reduced to glorified noisemakers.

Version 2.0 adds raccoons, skunks, opossums, foxes, beavers, deer, wild boar, and black bear to the existing rabbits, and squirrels, and now offers five types of birds rather than just one for both the hunting system introduced by Version 1.0 and the base game trapping system.

Before hunting, a player must first track animals. This requires foraging, where any character will be able to find animal traces and combine them for animal tracks (and experienced foragers can find animal tracks directly). Animal tracks are needed to hunt birds or small game or can be combined again for large animal tracks needed to hunt deer, wild pigs, or black bears.

Once the tracks are acquired, the player must have the appropriate weapon (kept) and four rounds (three will be expended), at which point they can attempt a hunt, the likelihood of success of which will be dependent on the character's Aiming and Sneaking ability. A totally unskilled character can expect to be successful around 40% of the time hunting with ideal weapons, expert hunters can more than double that. The probabilities are still being tweaked, so I'd appreciate any user input on that and any other aspect of the mod. The player can also hunt with throwing spears, expending three wooden lances, but this takes a substantially longer time and has a much lower chance of success (5% for an unskilled player hunting small game, so you'd better have a lot of animal tracks or a lot of Sneaking and Aiming).